Faculty

Alejandro GarciaAlejandro Garcia

Professor
Specialization: Computational fluid mechanics, statistical mechanics

Office: SCI 245
Phone: 408-924-5244
Email: algarcia@algarcia.org


 

Gina QuanGina Quan

 

Assistant Professor
Specialization: Physics Education Research (PER)

Arriving on campus January 2019


 

Christopher SmallwoodChristopher Smallwood

Assistant Professor
Specialization: Experimental optics and condensed matter physics

Office: SCI 248
Phone: 408-924-5270
Email: christopher.smallwood@sjsu.edu


 

Benedikt HarrerBenedikt Harrer

Assistant Professor
Specialization: Physics Education Research (PER)

Office: SCI 322
Phone: 408-924-5284
Email: benedikt.harrer@sjsu.edu


 

Cassandra PaulCassandra Paul

Assistant Professor
Specialization: Physics Education Research, Astronomy

Office: SCI 248 
Phone: 408-924-5228
Email: cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu


 

Thomas MaduraThomas Madura

Assistant Professor

Office: SCI 312
Phone: 408-924-5268
Email: thomas.madura@sjsu.edu


 

Peter BeyersdorfPeter Beyersdorf

Professor and Graduate Advisor
Specialization: Gravitational wave detection, precision measurements

Office: SCI 235
Phone: 408-924-5236
Email: peter.beyersdorf@sjsu.edu


 

Monika KressMonika Kress

Professor and Chair
Specialization: Astrophysics, astrobiology

Office: SCI 148
Phone: 408-924-5210
Email: monika.kress@sjsu.edu


 

Ranko HeindlRanko Heindl

Assistant Professor
Specialization: Experimental condensed matter physics

Office: SCI 264
Phone: 408-924-5259
Email: ranko.heindl@sjsu.edu

 


 

Aaron RomanowskyAaron Romanowsky

Associate Professor
Specialization: Astrophysics: galaxy formation, dark matter, dynamics

Office: SCI 235
Phone: 408-924-5225 
Email: aaron.romanowsky@sjsu.edu


 

Kenneth WhartonKenneth Wharton

Professor
Specialization: Plasma physics, laser-plasma interactions

Office: SCI 308
Phone: 408-924-5257
Email: kenneth.wharton@sjsu.edu


 

Ramendra BahugunaRamendra Bahuguna

Professor
Specialization: Holography, fingerprint sensors

Office: SCI 245
Phone: 408-924-5245
Email: ramendra.bahuguna@sjsu.edu


 

Patrick HamillPatrick Hamill

Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Atmospheric physics, aerosol physics

Office: SCI 240
Phone: 408-924-5241 
Email: patrick.hamill@sjsu.edu


 

Michael KaufmanMichael Kaufman

Professor and Dean, College of Science
Specialization: Astrophysics: interstellar medium, infrared/submillimeter observations

Office: SCI 127
Phone: 408-924-4800
Email: michael.kaufman@sjsu.edu


 

Kiumars ParvinKiumars Parvin

Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Experimental condensed matter physics
kiumars.parvin@sjsu.edu


 

Brian HolmesBrian Holmes

Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Musical acoustics, sports physics

Email: brian.holmes@sjsu.edu


 

Carel BoekemaCarel Boekema

Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Magnetism and superconductivity in solids, computational condensed matter physics

Email: carolus.boekema@sjsu.edu


 

Lui LamLiu Lam

Professor Emeritus
Specialization: Nonlinear physics, liquid crystals

Email: lui.lam@sjsu.edu